Celebrate and Support ESPM

The ESPM department is very grateful to the following loyal supporters of CNR for funding the research of the following students. Congratulations students!

Baker Research Fellowship in Forestry and Bidwell Research Fellowship in Forestry Awards
Chelsea Andreozzi
Katherine Siegel
Professor Earl Storie Memorial Scholarship Fund
Paige Stanley 
Matthew Libassi
James P. Bennett Agricultural Fund Award
Tyler Anthony
Omar Gutierrez Del Arroyo
Matthew Libassi
The Bob Lane and Sandy Purcell Endowed Graduate Student Support Fund Award
Seira Adams
Natalie Graham
Whitney Mgbara
Colman Watershed Fellowship Fund Award
Robert Parks
Freitag, Julius H. Memorial Award
Nina Pak
Phoebe Parker-Shames
SJ Hall Fellowship Prog-forestry
Katherine Siegel
Joos, Johannes Memorial Endowed Fund (Foundation)
Brian Whyte
Keen Fellowship in Forest Entomology Award 
Amelia Harvey
Sean Perez
Brian Whyte
2021 Lyman, Oliver Wildlife & Fisheries
Oliver Lyman Fund
Sam Maher
Jessie Moravek
Guadalupe Verta
Emily K Chen
Mitchell Serota
Rachel Ryan
Avery Shawler
Harshad Hemant Karandikar
Magy Memorial Scholarship Fund
Anna Holmquist
Brian Whyte
The Mary M. Yang and H. William Kuni Environmental Stewardship Fund
Heng Huang
Amy Van Scoyoc
Meek, Carolyn Memorial Scholarship
Anthony Tyler
The Society and Environment Gift Fund 
Julie Gorecki
Frances Roberts-Gregory
Frank Myers Forestry Scholarship
Jared Stapp
Clarke Knight
Katherine Siegel
Charles W. Woodworth Fellowship
Seira Adams
Nina Pak
Hannah M. and Frank Schwabacher Memorial Scholarship
Katherine Siegel
Jared Stapp
Schultz Grad Student Support Award
Julie Gorecki
Frances Roberts- Gregory
William Carroll Smith Fellowship Fund
Dylan Beal
2021 Safari Club Int’l Awards
Kendall Calhoun
Phoebe Parker-Shames
Robert L. Usinger Memorial Fund for Graduate Study in Entomology
Maggie Raboin
Laura Ward
The Edna & Yoshinori “Joe” Tanada Endowed Fellowship in Entomology Anna Holmquist
Bryan Whyte
The Lewis & Ann Resh Endowed Graduate Student Support Fund in Freshwater Ecology & Entomology Award 
Kyle Leathers
Rachael Ryan
Bryan Wilson Gift
Jacob Bukoski
Nicholas Goedeking
The Warren and Josephine Harding Fund Award
Chelsea Andreozzi
Alexandra “Sasha” Nikolaeva
Rainbow DeSilva
Suoja Graduate Prize Fund
Maggie Raboin
Edward A. Steinhaus Memorial Fund Award
Laura Ward
The Cause for Conservation Graduate Award
Rebecca Brunner
Wenjing Xu
Walter & Ruth Schubert Prize
Heng Huang
Katherine Siegel
The George and Violet Homem Graduate Award Fund
Maggie Raboin
The Dr. E. Ralph de Ong Student Support Fund
Kelsey Scheckel
The Loker Foundation Graduate Award
Brian Kastl

2022 Department Service Award Winners

Congratulations to our service award winners, and a big thank you to all the nominees for their hard work in making our spaces more inclusive, welcoming and equitable.

Service to Department

Whitney Mgbara

Whitney has done a ton of unseen labor for the ESPM GDC, GSA, 290 anti-racism course, and now as the DEI Coordinator and is a strong leader in the department for improvements in JEDI, mentoring, funding, as well as creating community and belonging across all levels of our department. Her leadership throughout her time in ESPM has undeniably shaped the department we are, and the trajectory of what our department may become. She has paved the path for many to follow and become DEI leaders in their own right. From her peers: “It is such a gift to work with her. Thank you Whitney!”

Service to University

Kenzo Esquivel

Kenzo’s work co-leading the GDC, helping create & then continue to reimagine the ESPM 290 anti-racism course, as well as serving as a steward in the student union have done an incredible job connecting JEDI and workplace fairness efforts within the department to the work being done broadly in the university (and university system as a whole). He has avidly led the campus union to fight for better living conditions for graduate and postdoc students, and works so hard to ensure the graduate community has a safe and healthy environment.

Service to Community

Sebastián Rubiano-Galvis

Sebastián has led the creation of diverse and inclusive spaces of academic discussion and community-building for Latinx graduate students on campus. Sebastián has dedicated significant time and energy to promoting diversity and inclusion and has been a dedicated mentor for international students. In Spring 2022, Sebastián was awarded the Outstanding GSI award for his work in the ESPM 150 class taught by Sunaura Taylor to engage a uniquely engaged cohort of students, several of them disabled, queer, and trans folks interested in the relationships between disability justice and the environment.

2022 Golden Tongs Award for Community Spirit: Kat Culbertson & Sierra Yarnes for starting up the department social hours and bringing the community back together!

2022 Steel Rod Award for Best Department Email: 2020 Cohort for their hilarious quals celebration emails!

Support Us

Are you interested in Supporting the ESPM department and/or UC Berkeley’s College of Natural Resources? Click here for more information.

espmThe Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management is a large multidisciplinary program with internationally recognized faculty engaged in biological, physical, and social research that spans the continuum from basic to applied research – a continuum particularly enhanced by our strong group of cooperative extension specialists. We offer a portfolio of attractive and rapidly growing undergraduate majors. We have one of the nation’s strongest graduate programs. Read more…