ESPM Faculty and Students Receive Notable Campus Awards

April 17, 2012

The Chancellor's Awards for Public Service

Each year, the Chancellor recognizes students, staff, faculty and community partnerships that embody UC Berkeley's proud tradition of public service and commitment to improving our local and global community.

Two recipients of this year's Chancellor's Awards for Public Service are members of the Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Associate Professor Rachel Morello-Frosch for Research in the Public Interest, and PhD Candidate Lara Roman for the Graduate Student Award for Civic Engagement.

The Awards Ceremony will take place on April 30, 2012, 3-5:30pm in the Sibley Auditorium. More information can be found here.

Jenna Cavelle, CRS Major, Receives The Judith Lee Stronach Baccalaureate Prize

Conservation and Resource Studies major Jenna Cavelle was named a recipient of the 2012 Judith Lee Stronach Prize. The prize supports intellectual and creative pursuits that heighten awareness of issues of social consciousness and the public good. The award gives bright, ambitious students the opportunity to extend and reflect upon their undergraduate work at Berkeley by undertaking a special project after their graduation. Winning projects are creative in the broadest sense, explore themes of significant interest to holders of the Prize, and strive to further understanding of what constitutes humane and effective participation in our worldwide community.

Ten ESPM Graduate Students Receive Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award

The Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award gives campus-wide recognition to those GSIs who have demonstrated excellence in teaching. In addition to certificates of distinction and a celebratory ceremony in the spring, award recipients will receive a $250 stipend, sponsored by the Dean of the Graduate Division to applaud outstanding GSIs.

Congratulations to ESPM's Outstanding GSIs:

  • Laura Dane

  • Virginia Emery

  • Shasta Ferranto (Discovery Course Program)

  • Ted Grudin

  • Matt Hughes

  • Alice Kelly

  • Ellen Kersten

  • Misha Leong

  • Albie Miles

  • Seth Shonkoff

The awards ceremony and reception will take place on Tuesday, May 1, 2012 at the International House, Chevron Auditorium, 3:30- 5:00 pm.