Faculty & Specialists

Faculty and Specialists


David Ackerly's picture
dackerly@berkeley.edu
Rodrigo P.P. Almeida's picture
rodrigoalmeida@berkeley.edu
510-642-1603
Ecology of emerging plant diseases and insect-microbe interactions
Ronald AMUNDSON's picture
earthy@berkeley.edu
510-643-7890
Pedology isotope biogeochemistry, impact of climate and life on earth processes, soils in biogeochemical cycles, human impacts on soils and ecosystems
Dennis BALDOCCHI's picture
baldocchi@berkeley.edu
510-642-2874
biometeorology, biosphere-atmosphere trace gas fluxes, ecosystem ecology, climate change
Jillian BANFIELD's picture
jbanfield@berkeley.edu
510-643-2155
Geomicrobiology, environmental biogeochemistry, microbial community ecology and evolution
John BATTLES's picture
jbattles@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-0684
Forest Ecology and Ecosystem Dynamics
Steven BEISSINGER's picture
beis@berkeley.edu
510-643-3038
Conservation, behavioral and population ecology
Benjamin Wong Blonder's picture
benjamin.blonder@berkeley.edu
Ecology, Global change, Plant ecophysiology, Community ecology, Biogeography, Biodiversity, Useful plants, Machine learning, Eco-informatics, Mathematical modeling, Remote sensing
Carl Boettiger's picture
cboettig@berkeley.edu
Theoretical ecology, ecoinformatics, modeling, data science, resilience, early warning signals, decision theory
Timothy Bowles's picture
timothy.bowles@berkeley.edu
agroecology, soil ecology and biogeochemistry, plant-soil-microbe interactions
Justin Brashares's picture
brashares@berkeley.edu
510-643-6080
Wildlife Ecology, Conservation and Socioeconomics
Van Butsic's picture
vanbutsic@berkeley.edu
5106665400
Land systems science, conservation, environmental economics and policy, coupled human natural systems, GIS applications
Stephanie Carlson's picture
smcarlson@berkeley.edu
510-643-9704
Fish ecology, freshwater ecology, evolutionary ecology
Ignacio CHAPELA's picture
canyonwalks@gmail.com
510-693-1611
Microbial Ecology
Youjin B. Chung's picture
youjin@berkeley.edu
political economy of development, historical and feminist political ecology, critical food and agrarian studies, African studies, Tanzania, feminist theory, science technology studies, critical ethnography, visual methods
Paolo D'Odorico's picture
paolododo@berkeley.edu
Ecohydrology; Surface Hydrology; Ecosystem Ecology; Aeolian Processes; Desertification; Stochastic, Nonlinear Environmental Dynamics; Water and Food Security
Kent M. DAANE's picture
kmdaane@berkeley.edu
559-646-6522 (Kearney)
Control of insect pests in agricultural crops
Biological Control and Sustainable Agriculture
Todd Dawson's picture
tdawson@berkeley.edu
510-642-6090
Physiological plant ecology, stable isotope biogeochemistry
Kathryn Teigen De Master's picture
Kathryn.DeMaster@berkeley.edu
Sociology of agriculture, rural livelihoods, farmland access and financialization, the agri-food tech sector, agroecological/diversified farming systems, terroir
Perry de Valpine's picture
pdevalpine@berkeley.edu
510-642-0676
Ecological modeling, computational statistics, population ecology
Kristin Dobbin's picture
kbdobbin@berkeley.edu
Environmental justice, drinking water, public policy, natural resource management
Richard DODD's picture
dodd@berkeley.edu
510-643-1635
Tree genetics and systematics
Iryna Dronova's picture
idronova@berkeley.edu
Ecosystem & landscape ecology, remote sensing, spatial analysis, biodiversity, wetlands, urban ecosystems
Damian Elias's picture
doelias@berkeley.edu
510-642-6396
Neuroethology, behavioral ecology, and evolutionary biology of arthropods
Inez FUNG's picture
ifung@berkeley.edu
510-643-9367
Climate change biogeochemical cycles
Matteo Garbelotto's picture
matteog@berkeley.edu
510 643-4282
Forest pathology, forest mycology, forest and tree management
Christina M Getz's picture
cgetz@berkeley.edu
510-642-8681
Ethics, history, politics, rural development
Laureano Gherardi Arbizu's picture
lau.gherardi@berkeley.edu
Plant Ecology at multiple scales looking at above- and below-ground responses to Global Change stressors
Rosemary GILLESPIE's picture
gillespie@berkeley.edu
510-642-3445
Evolutionary ecology, systematics, spider biology, conservation
Manuela Girotto's picture
mgirotto@berkeley.edu
233 Mulford Hall
Hydrologic response and interaction between natural and human driven processes, land surface remote sensing and multi-sensor, -spectrum, -resolution data assimilation; hydrology contribution to sea level change, snow hydrology.
Allen Goldstein's picture
ahg@berkeley.edu
510-643-2451
Biogeochemistry, atmospheric chemistry
Theodore Grantham's picture
tgrantham@berkeley.edu
510-664-4664
Freshwater ecology, stream hydrology, climate risk assessment
Seth Holmes's picture
sethmholmes@berkeley.edu
510 643-5342
Medical anthropology, transnational im/migration and refugeeism, critical food studies, racialization and racism, gender and queer theory, naturalization and normalization of social and health inequalities, Latin America, the United States, and Europe.
I advise graduate students who utilize ethnographic methods and social theory often related to one or more of the following: social and political inequities, health and health care, transnational im/migration and/or refugeeism, critical food studies. If you are interested in working with me, please read this profile page closely and look at some of my work.
Elizabeth Hoover's picture
elizabeth.hoover@berkeley.edu
Native American food systems, food sovereignty, Native American environmental health movements, heirloom seeds, Indigenous uses of fire, Native American museum curation, community based participatory research, environmental justice, food justice
Lynn HUNTSINGER's picture
huntsinger@berkeley.edu
510-685-1884
Rangeland conservation and management: http://nature.berkeley.edu/huntsingerlab-wp/
Alastair Iles's picture
iles@berkeley.edu
Chemicals policy and politics (including green chemistry, chemicals testing, biomonitoring) II sustainable food systems (including agroecology, policies for diversified farming systems, food sovereignty) II environmental STS II sustainability transitions II sustainability learning and societal change
Trevor Keenan's picture
trevorkeenan@berkeley.edu
510-486-5537
Ecosystem dynamics; carbon and water cycling; ecophysiology; vegetation states, rates and traits; biogeochemistry; micrometeorology; atmospheric science; mathematics and data science
Maggi Kelly's picture
maggi@berkeley.edu
510-642-7272
GIS and remote sensing, historical ecology, drones, spatial data science
Laura Lammers's picture
lnlammers@berkeley.edu
Environmental geochemistry, crystal growth, mineral-fluid and fluid-fluid interfacial processes, contaminant transport
Michael Mascarenhas's picture
mascarenhas@berkeley.edu
+1 510-643-0319
Postcolonial theory and development studies, environmental justice and critical race theory, and science and technology studies
Jonas Meckling's picture
meckling@berkeley.edu
510 643-1966
climate policy, energy policy, political economy
Adina MERENLENDER's picture
adinam@berkeley.edu
707-489-4362
Conservation Science
Climate Stewardship
Climate-wise Habitat Connectivity
Working Lands Conservation
Community Science
Arthur D. Middleton's picture
amiddleton@berkeley.edu
Wildlife ecology, management, and policy; Biodiversity conservation; Landscape conservation; Science outreach and communication
Nicholas J MILLS's picture
nmills@berkeley.edu
510-642-1711
Invasive species, Biological control, Population ecology, Entomology/Insect biology
Meg Mills-Novoa's picture
mills-novoa@berkeley.edu
climate change adaptation, political ecology of global change, critical development studies, water justice, participatory mixed methods, Latin America
Rachel Morello-Frosch's picture
rmf@berkeley.edu
510-643-6358
Race and class determinants of the distribution of health risks associated with air pollution among diverse communities in the United States.
Peter Nelson's picture
peteran@berkeley.edu
Indigenous archaeology, Indigenous environmental studies, settler colonialism, Community-Based Participatory Research, California
Kate O'Neill's picture
kmoneill@berkeley.edu
Global environmental politics and governance, global political economy, wastes, local politics of waste and recycling and waste management, waste trade and the circular economy, climate change politics, activism and social movements
Dara O'ROURKE's picture
orourke@berkeley.edu
510-643-3110
Environmental justice, globalization, industrial ecology, labor
Celine Pallud's picture
cpallud@berkeley.edu
510-642-6359
Soil & environmental biogeophysics, fate & transport of contaminants
Nancy Peluso's picture
npeluso@berkeley.edu
510-643-2797
political ecology, Indonesia, resource policy and politics, forest and agrarian change, property and access
Matthew D. Potts's picture
mdpotts@berkeley.edu
510-642-5580
carbon removal, nature based climate solutions, forest management, biofuels, plantation agriculture, land use planning, land use policy, biodiversity conservation, ecosystem services, tropical ecology, environmental economics
Miranda Redmond's picture
mir@berkeley.edu
forest ecology, disturbance ecology, forest management
Robert RHEW's picture
rrhew@berkeley.edu
none
Atmospheric science: stratospheric ozone depletion, air quality and greenhouse gases. Trace gas biogeochemistry of halocarbons, hydrocarbons and reduced sulfur compounds. Biosphere-atmosphere flux measurements in natural and human-impacted landscapes. Education development in ocean, climate and atmospheric sciences.
George RODERICK's picture
roderick@berkeley.edu
global change, invasive species, biodiversity, genomic observatories, environmental science, sustainability, insects
Erica Bree Rosenblum's picture
rosenblum@berkeley.edu
510-642-2108
Global Change Biology, Evolutionary Ecology, Conservation Genomics, Host-Pathogen Interactions, Speciation & Extinction
Albert Ruhi's picture
albert.ruhi@berkeley.edu
510 664-5381
Freshwater ecology, biodiversity conservation, community ecology, global change
Daniel Sanchez's picture
sanchezd@berkeley.edu
carbon dioxide removal, bioenergy, California forests, climate policy, energy systems modeling
Christopher Schell's picture
cjschell@berkeley.edu
Urban ecology, animal behavior, endocrine mechanisms, human-wildlife conflict, social-ecological systems, environmental justice, mammalogy
Whendee SILVER's picture
wsilver@berkeley.edu
510-643-3074
Ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry
Jennifer Sowerwine's picture
jsowerwi@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7043
Building equitable, economically viable and culturally relevant food systems in metropolitan areas that contribute to healthy communities
Ecological diversity and sustainable livelihoods
Scott STEPHENS's picture
sstephens[at]berkeley.edu
(510) 642-7304
Wildland fire science, fire ecology, forest ecology, forest policy, forest management
Mark A. TANOUYE's picture
tanouye@berkeley.edu
510-642-9404
Insect neurophysiology
Sunaura Taylor's picture
sct@berkeley.edu
Disability studies/crip theory; ableism; animal studies/ethics; multispecies justice; environmental humanities; ecofeminism; environmental justice
Bill TIETJE's picture
tietje@berkeley.edu
805-781-5938
Oak woodland ecology, human impacts on wildlife
Neil Tsutsui's picture
ntsutsui@berkeley.edu
Behavior, genetics, and chemical ecology of social insects. Outdoor education and science outreach.
Ian Wang's picture
ianwang@berkeley.edu
+1 510 664-4684
landscape genetics, ecological and conservation genomics, adaptive radiation
Kipling Will's picture
kipwill@berkeley.edu
none
Carabid beetles/ Insect Systematics
Robert York's picture
ryork@berkeley.edu
530-333-4475
Forest Ecology, Disturbance Regime Guided Silviculture, Giant Sequoia restoration, Prescribed burning, Pyrosilviculture