Graduate Students

Graduate Students


Lucy Andrews's picture
lucyandrews@berkeley.edu
water management, climate change adaptation, hydraulic infrastructure, environmental flows, cooperative extension, environmental justice
Joshua E Arnold's picture
j.earl.arnold@berkeley.edu
Clint Atkinson's picture
clint_atkinsonwgfd@berkeley.edu
wildlife ecology, human-large carnivore conflict, large carnivore monitoring and management
Kristin Barker's picture
wildlife ecology, predator-prey interactions, partial migration
Miswa Basil's picture
Environmental cooperation, environmental peacebuilding, local governance and climate policy, East Africa.
Areidy Beltran-Peña's picture
areidy@berkeley.edu
Water-Energy-Food Nexus, Earth System Science, Climate Change, Hydrology, Food Security, Land - Atmosphere Interactions, Satellite Remote Sensing, Development Engineering, Data Science
Anusha Bishop's picture
anusha.bishop@berkeley.edu
Landscape genetics/genomics, ecological genomics, spatial analysis
Andrea Brown's picture
disease ecology, plant pathogen evolution
Becca Brunner's picture
wildlife conservation, tropical ecology, animal behavior, forest-agriculture matrix, bioacoustics, amphibians, birds
TRACY JEAN BURNETT's picture
tracyburnett@berkeley.edu
Allan Cabrero's picture
Diptera, Bombyliidae, Systematics, Taxonomy, Evolutionary Biology, Phylogenetics, Metagenomics, Namibia, South Africa, Deserts
Kendall Calhoun's picture
kendallcalhoun@berkeley.edu
Wildlife Ecology, Conservation, Community Ecology, California Wildfires, Resilience
Ataya Cesspooch's picture
Critical Indigenous studies, Indigenous sovereignty & resurgence, Indigenous language revitalization, environmental justice, energy infrastructure
Vera L. Chang's picture
veralchang@berkeley.edu
Labor and human rights, supply chains governance, changing industry practices, critical food studies, environmental and social justice, visual ethnography
Millie Chapman's picture
mchapman@berkeley.edu
Emily Chen's picture
Population dynamics, fisheries management, ecological modeling, salmon ecology
Marianne Cowherd's picture
cowherd@berkeley.edu
snow hydrology, wildland fire
Katherine Culbertson's picture
kat_culbertson@berkeley.edu
ecosystem restoration, tropical rainforest ecology, ecosystem services
Pranjal Dwivedi's picture
pranjal_dwivedi@berkeley.edu
Soil biogeochemistry, soil carbon, land-use change, redox chemistry
Kenzo Esquivel's picture
kesquivel@berkeley.edu
Agroecology, ecological modeling, socio-ecological systems
Cesar O. Estien's picture
cestien@berkeley.edu
urban ecology, environmental justice and health, behavioral ecology, social-ecological dynamics, human-wildlife conflict and management, equity
Rosalie Zdzienicka Fanshel's picture
rzfanshel@berkeley.edu
Critical university studies, agri-food systems, critical race theory and whiteness studies, organizational change
Amy Fingerle's picture
amyfing@berkeley.edu
Emily Finkelstine's picture
comparative political economy, energy transition, Chinese politics, climate change policy
Raphaela Floreani Buzbee's picture
refb@berkeley.edu
California botany, vegetation ecology, climate change, conservation and stewardship, geophytes
Alexis Flores (she/her)'s picture
alexis_flores@berkeley.edu
One Health, public health, zoonotic disease and transmission, urban ecology, environmental justice
Daniel Foster's picture
danfoster@berkeley.edu
Jesus Alejandro Garcia A.'s picture
alejo_garcia@berkeley.edu
Political ecology, Critical agrarian studies, Environmental Justice, Infrastructure, Rivers.
Ben Goldstein's picture
ben.goldstein@berkeley.edu
Ecology
Species distribution modeling
Citizen science
Maggie Grundler's picture
mgrundler@berkeley.edu
natural history, evolutionary ecology, ecological speciation, dietary specialization, niche evolution, herpetology
Sierra Hampton's picture
sierrabonniemoon@berkeley.edu
Indigenous Sovereignty, Food Sovereignty, Agroecology, Seed Sovereignty, Indigenous Environmental Studies, International Indigenous Rights
Sarah Hartman's picture
sarah_hartman@berkeley.edu
Food-Water Nexus, Agriculture, Remote Sensing, Hydrology, Water Resources
Amelia Harvey's picture
amelia_harvey@berkeley.edu
Pollinator conservation and social insect behavior.
Jessica Heiges's picture
municipal solid waste, food packaging waste, zero waste, Berkeley foodware ordinance, school meal program waste, California plastic waste exports, China's Operation National Sword
Anna Holmquist's picture
ajholmqu@berkeley.edu
Arachnology, biogeography, behavioral ecology, spider taxonomy
Leke Hutchins's picture
Conservation biology, agroecology, Hawaiian food sovereignty
Andrew Johnson's picture
andrewj2@berkeley.edu
Wildland fire science and forest management
Brian Kastl's picture
bkastl@berkeley.edu
Water management, salmon conservation, environmental flows, freshwater ecology, hydrology, geomorphology, outreach/education
Michelle Katuna's picture
Collaboration between Native and non-Native peoples on land stewardship in Sonoma and Marin Counties and beyond.
Abby Keller's picture
agkeller@berkeley.edu
decision theory, population dynamics, hierarchical modeling
Ansel Olive Klein's picture
taproot@berkeley.edu
Agroecology, Soil Science, Remote Sensing & GIS
Noriko Kusumi's picture
norikokusumi@berkeley.edu
International Political Economy and the Environment; Ecological Economics; Science & Technology Studies; Environmental Justice; and Critical Management Studies (Corporate Social Responsibility & Socially Responsible Investment)
Seth Avram LaRosa's picture
sethlarosa@berkeley.edu
7075992391
Cannabis policy in California, the United States and internationally.
Specifically how prohibition policies affect inequality, indigenous sovereignty, rural poverty, migrant labor, alternative food systems, and prison pipelines.
Kyle Leathers's picture
kyle_leathers@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology, food webs, environmental stressors, macroinvertebrates
Cedric Lee's picture
Chilopods, Entomology, Systematics, Phylogenetics, Biodiversity
Patrick Lee's picture
Plant Disease Ecology, Plant Community Ecology, Host-Pathogen Interactions
Madeleine Levy's picture
Rangeland ecology and management, Population ecology, Human-Wildlife Conflict, Wildlife management
Robin D. López's picture
rdlopez@berkeley.edu
Water, Climate, Soils, Science Justice, Hydrology, Hydrogeology, Science Education, Science Communication, High Latitude Ecosystems, Ecohydrolgy, Ecology, Environmental Justice
Xinchen Lu's picture
xinchen_lu@berkeley.edu
3413338491
Climate change, Data science, Remote sensing, Phenology
Miriam Magaña Lopez's picture
Migrant health, immigration rights, deportation, incarceration, structural competency, food access, environmental justice, qualitative analysis
Sam Maher's picture
sam.maher@berkeley.edu
Jaye Mejia-Duwan's picture
jaye.mejia.duwan@berkeley.edu
queer ecology; environmental racism; disability studies and environmental justice; Marxist feminism
Hana Moidu's picture
hanamoidu@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology, intermittent streams, hydrology
Jessie Moravek's picture
jessie_moravek@berkeley.edu
Freshwater research and conservation; hydropower development; salmon conservation
Corrina Munger's picture
cmunger@berkeley.edu
forest management, wildfire behavior, silviculture, California forest management policy
Ngoc Nguyen's picture
ngoc.nguyen@berkeley.edu
Ecosystem Respiration, Carbon Cycle Modeling, Eddy Covariance, Remote Sensing
Sasha Nikolaeva's picture
Forest management in Russia
Redwood Genetics
Kari Norman's picture
kari.norman@berkeley.edu
Clay F Noss's picture
cnoss@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary ecology, herpetology
Miguel Alejandro Ochoa's picture
ochoama@berkeley.edu
agroecology, diversified food systems, rural development, commodity markets, farm labor, drought ecology
Jennifer Ofodile's picture
jofodile@berkeley.edu
Ashlyn Olah's picture
Remote sensing, GIS, wildland fire ecology, forest management
Daniel Oliveira's picture
daniel.oliveira@berkeley.edu
Ecological genomics, adaptation, distribution modeling, spatial analysis, conservation biology
Megan Pagliaro's picture
Estuarine ecology, tidal marsh restoration, food web ecology, stable isotope analysis
Nina Pak's picture
nina.pak@berkeley.edu
Robert Parks's picture
rparks@berkeley.edu
Philosophy, history of modern and contemporary scientific understandings, faith, history of ecology, community ecology, ecological food webs, Eel River (CA)
Evan Patrick's picture
epatrick@berkeley.edu
Forest change, livelihoods, critical development studies, smallholder climate adaptation, Guatemala
Sean Perez's picture
seanperez@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary Biology; Entomology; Genetics; Transcriptomics; Metabolomics
Danielle Perryman's picture
danielle.perryman@berkeley.edu
Margiana Petersen-Rockney's picture
margiana@berkeley.edu
Climate change, adaptation, agriculture, rural livelihoods, land access and tenure, beginning and socially disadvantaged farmers, extension, sociology of agriculture, conservation biology and ecology
Crossley Pinkstaff's picture
crossleypinkstaff@berkeley.edu
water and land resource allocation; gender and wellbeing; international development policy
Jaleel Plummer's picture
jmplummer@berkeley.edu
Medical anthropology, biomedicine, health disparities, structural vulnerability, colonialism & postcolonialism, racialization & racism, subjectivity, the human body, sociality, & social movements
Mindy Jewell Price's picture
mindy_price@berkeley.edu
political ecology; sociology of agriculture; rural livelihoods; critical Indigenous studies; arctic/subarctic agriculture; frontiers
Julie Pyatt's picture
jpyatt@berkeley.edu
Yarong Qi's picture
yarongqi@berkeley.edu
Environmental biogeochemistry
Benji Reade Malagueño's picture
benjirm@berkeley.edu
Water justice, agricultural trade, water markets, political economy, food sovereignty, political ecology, data science, Chile
Valle Rogers's picture
Entomology
Biocontrol of Invasive Insects and Weeds
Eric Romero's picture
eric.romero@berkeley.edu
Andrew Rothstein's picture
andrew.rothstein@berkeley.edu
Sebastian Rubiano-Galvis's picture
srubianog@berkeley.edu
Environmental law and policy, political ecology, socio-legal studies, global environmental politics, science and technology studies (STS), critical studies of toxicity, discard studies, repair and maintenance, Latin America, Colombia.
Kieren Rudge's picture
Environmental Justice; Critical Race Theory; Climate Adaptation & Resilience
Sophie Ruehr's picture
sophie_ruehr@berkeley.edu
Carbon and water cycling; terrestrial ecosystems; hydrology; plant-water dynamics; biometeorology
Rachael Ryan's picture
rachael_ryan@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology; conservation; salmon life-history; population diversity
Edoardo Scali's picture
edoardo_scali@berkeley.edu
forest pathology, host-pathogen molecular interaction, fungal genetics and genomics, statistical and computational methods
Tara Seely's picture
tara_seely@berkeley.edu
Mitchell Serota's picture
Conservation Biology, Movement Ecology, Predator-Prey Interactions, Community Ecology
Natasha Shannon's picture
natasha_shannon@berkeley.edu
critical agrarian studies, political ecology, rural sociology, environmental social sciences
agrifood systems, rural development, regenerative agriculture, Appalachia, agrifood tech, financialization
Avery Shawler's picture
avery.shawler@berkeley.edu
Human-wildlife conflict, movement ecology, wildlife management, predator-prey interactions, conservation biology,
. Sheherazade's picture
conservation science and policy; wildlife trade and hunting; community-based approach; bat ecology
Robert Shortt's picture
robert_shortt@berkeley.edu
Yvonne Socolar's picture
yvonne.socolar@berkeley.edu
Agroecology, diversified farming systems, dry farming, soil ecology, plant-soil-microbe interactions, climate change, human nutrition
Paige Stanley's picture
paige.stanley@berkeley.edu
Agricultural policy; sustainable animal agriculture; soil C sequestration; integrated crop-livestock systems; diversified farming systems; sustainable grazing
McKalee Steen's picture
mckalee_steen@berkeley.edu
Emma Steigerwald's picture
emma_steigerwald@berkeley.edu
Conservation biology, evolutionary ecology
Preston Tasoff's picture
ptasoff@berkeley.edu
Microbiome
Metagenomics
Biogeochemistry
Microbial Ecology
Annie Taylor's picture
annalisetaylor@berkeley.edu
Remote sensing; conservation biology; GIS; applied conservation; forest health; land use change; environmental justice; community conservation and communication.
Alex Thomas's picture
microbial ecology, landscape ecology, soils, GIS & statistics
Rosario Torres's picture
rtorres87@berkeley.edu
Indigenous archaeology, Paleoethnobotany, gender in archaeology, eco-archaeology, Settler-colonialism, Community-Based Participatory Research, California
Yesenia Valverde's picture
yvalverde@berkeley.edu
tropical ecology, forest landscape restoration, biodiversity conservation, rural livelihoods, agroforestry
Amy Van Scoyoc's picture
avanscoyoc@berkeley.edu
community ecology, predator-prey interactions, social-ecological systems, human-wildlife coexistence
Summer Vance's picture
sevance@berkeley.edu
Guadalupe Verta's picture
guadalupe_verta@berkeley.edu
My main motivation is developing solutions that help reduce human impacts on the Patagonian steppe, with a specific focus on human-wildlife coexistence in a rapidly changing world. Before starting my master’s at UC Berkeley, I worked with Wildlife Conservation Society – Argentina in different projects involving the implementation of nonlethal deterrents and the study of activity patterns of carnivores, prey species, and livestock in northern Patagonia, in an area with intense conflict with livestock production.
Melissa von Mayrhauser's picture
mvonmayrhauser@berkeley.edu
Freshwater ecology, watershed management, urban river restoration, community-driven science, flow regimes
Tianxin Wang's picture
cawang@berkeley.edu
Biometeorology, Eddy Covariance, Surface Energy Balance, Evaporation, Remote Sensing
Rachel Weinberg's picture
rachel.b.weinberg@gmail.com
Population genetics and evolutionary ecology of colonial and eusocial organisms; evolution and diversity of self/nonself recognition systems
Jacob West-Roberts's picture
jwestrob@berkeley.edu
Metagenomics
Microbial Ecology
Biochemistry
Bioremediation
Phylogenetics
Erin Westeen's picture
ewesteen@berkeley.edu
phenotypic evolution, speciation dynamics, comparative biology, evolutionary ecology, population genetics, behavioral ecology, herpetology
Brian A. Whyte's picture
ba.whyte@berkeley.edu
Sociobiology, Social evolution, Animal behavior, Parasitology, Chemical ecology, Major evolutionary transitions of individuality
Tyus D. Williams's picture
Tyusdwilliams@berkeley.edu
Carnivore ecology, spatial ecology, human-wildlife conflict, species competition, urban ecology, movement patterns, predation dynamics, community ecology, socio-ecological dynamics
Jesse Williamson's picture
jwilliamson@berkeley.edu
Critical Race Theory, Industrial Ecology, Political Ecology, Agroecology, STS
Cynthia Wilson's picture
Indigenous Epistemology, Ontology, Pedagogy, Ethnoecology, Food and Land Rematriation
Katherine Wolf's picture
katherinerosewolf@berkeley.edu
+1 630 779-5424
Sierra Yarnes's picture
SLYarnes@berkeley.edu
Soil biogeochemistry; ecosystem ecology, biological soil crusts, landscape ecology
Mei Zhang 张玫's picture
zhangmei@berkeley.edu
Revitalizing the Ancient Tea Horse Trail in China
Yihong Zhu's picture
yihong.zhu@berkeley.edu