Graduate Students

Graduate Students


Briana L Abrahms's picture
briana.abrahms@berkeley.edu
conservation planning, connectivity science, landscape ecology, wildlife management
Seira A. Adams's picture
seira.adams@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Pheromones, Spider Biology
1505471's picture
candreozzi@berkeley.edu
conservation planning, wildlife ecology, forest ecology, bats
Tyler Anthony's picture
t.anthony@berkeley.edu
Soil biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, land use change
946145's picture
raoyama@berkeley.edu
Range ecology, landscape ecology, nutrient cycling
Joshua E Arnold's picture
j.earl.arnold@berkeley.edu
272429's picture
sjbarry@berkeley.edu
Grazing Management, Ecosystems Services from Working Rangelands
 
jjbauer@berkeley.edu
Sasha Berleman's picture
sberleman@berkeley.edu
9517196835
Prescribed fire as a management technique for threshold reversal in medusahead
Hekia Bodwitch's picture
hekiabodwitch@berkeley.edu
+1 315-567-9743
Food systems; Natural resource management; Indigeneity, race & difference;
Erin Elizabeth Brandt's picture
eebrandt@berkeley.edu
Becca Brunner's picture
conservation, tropical ecology, forest-agriculture matrix, bioacoustics, amphibians, birds
Jacob Bukoski's picture
jbukoski@berkeley.edu
Spatial ecology; tropical forests; conservation; climate change; land use change
TRACY JEAN BURNETT's picture
tracyburnett@berkeley.edu
Allison Q Byrne's picture
allison.q.byrne@gmail.com
Adam J Calo's picture
adamcalo@berkeley.edu
Colin J Carlson's picture
cjcarlson@berkeley.edu
Spatial ecology; ecological modeling; climate change; extinction risk; host-parasite interactions
Elliot Chang's picture
elliotc@berkeley.edu
Molecular dynamic simulations, aqueous speciation/surface complexation, surface geochemistry, bioadsorption
Vera Chang's picture
Sociology of agriculture and food, environmental justice, global supply chains, human rights, social change, visual ethnography
Dylan Edward Chapple's picture
dylanchapple@berkeley.edu
Restoration Ecology, Plant Community Ecology, Wetland Ecology, Science Education
Chryl Corbin's picture
uc.corbin@berkeley.edu
Race, Class, Green Spaces, Gentrification, Urban Political Ecology, Urban Planning, Media, and Science Fiction (Futurism/Utopian/ Dystopian/Speculative)
Stella Cousins's picture
stella.c_at_ berkeley.edu
plant stress, forest community ecology, silviculture, urban-rural interfaces, cultural landscapes, and environmental history
1514209's picture
forest ecology, disturbance ecology, silviculture
Rainbow DeSilva's picture
rainbow222@berkeley.edu
Laura Dev's picture
lauradev@berkeley.edu
Society & Environment, Political Ecology, Feminist Science and Technology Studies, Ethnobotany, Decolonizing Knowledge Production, Multispecies Ethnography, Participatory Research Methods, Ecophilosophy, Natural Resource Management
1501202's picture
tropical conservation, deforestation, land use change, smallholder mining
Eric R. Dougherty's picture
dougherty.eric@berkeley.edu
Disease Ecology; Computational Modeling; Biological Conservation
LAURA DRISCOLL's picture
laurardriscoll@gmail.com
Food Safety Regulation, Sustainable Agriculture, California Agriculture, UK Agriculture, Agroecology, Multifunctional Agriculture, Standards, Organic Agriculture
Joan Celeste Dudney's picture
Forest ecology, community ecology, invasive species, restoration ecology, pests and pathogens
981155's picture
jenniedurant@berkeley.edu
Kelly J Easterday's picture
kjeasterday@berkeley.edu
historical ecology, forestry, change mapping, climate change
Sara Emery's picture
semery@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3989
Indirect Interactions, Parasitoid Food Webs and Dispersal in Disturbed Landscapes, Host Selection
Ignacio Escalante Meza's picture
iescalante@berkeley.edu
Behavioral Ecology, Biomechanics, Tropical Biology, Animal Communication and Cognition, Spiders, Harvestmen
Katerina Y. Estera's picture
rinaest@berkeley.edu
Fabian Fernandez's picture
fabian.fernandez@berkeley.edu
State violence, prison abolition, sex work, migration, queer theory, critical race theory, health social movements, and HIV
Ms. Kari Michelle Michelle Finstad's picture
karifinstad@berkeley.edu
510-643-6910
Soil isotope geochemistry, biogeochemistry, astrobiology, soil science, ecosystem science, surface processes
Jane A. Flegal's picture
jflegal@berkeley.edu
Designated Emphasis in Science and Technology Studies (STS); science policy; climate and energy politics and policy.
 
danfoster@berkeley.edu
Maria J Friedman's picture
kiyay@berkeley.edu
Forest pathology, forest mycology, microbial ecology, how it all works
Kaitlyn Gaynor's picture
kgaynor@berkeley.edu
wildlife ecology, predator-prey interactions, human-wildlife coexistence, conservation biology, coupled human-natural systems
Madeline Girard's picture
maddiegirard34@berkeley.edu
Sydney Glassman's picture
sglassman@berkeley.edu
Fungal ecology, mycology
Nicholas Goedeking's picture
Climate and energy policy, urban responses to climate change, energy transitions, green infrastructure
Natalie Graham's picture
n.graham@berkeley.edu
Speciation mechanisms of insular fauna, molecular systematics, species interaction networks, landscape genetics, invasion biology, evolutionary ecology
Ellyn Gray's picture
ellyngray@berkeley.edu
Atmospheric Science, Air Quality, Field Measurements
Morgan Gray's picture
morgan.gray@berkeley.edu
Connectivity, climate change, ecological modeling
Theodore Grudin's picture
tgrudin@berkeley.edu
Traci Grzymala's picture
mala@berkeley.edu
Systematics; Coleoptera; Behavior; Microscopy
OMAR GUTIERREZ DEL ARROYO's picture
ogutierrezdela@berkeley.edu
ecosystem ecology, soil biogeochemistry, plant ecophysiology, tropical forest ecology
Aidee Guzman's picture
agriculture, ecology, soil microbiology, pollination ecology, sociology of agriculture, rural livelihoods, and ecological resilience
DREW ELLISON HART's picture
drew.hart@berkeley.edu
conservation biology, landscape genomics, ecological genomics
 
amelia_harvey@berkeley.edu
Pollinator conservation and social insect behavior.
Kyle S Hemes's picture
khemes@berkeley.edu
Biometeorology, ecosystem ecology, land use change, climate policy
1521956's picture
ajholmqu@berkeley.edu
Arachnology, biogeography, behavioral ecology, spider taxonomy
Tracy V Hruska's picture
t.hruska@berkeley.edu
nomadic pastoralism; rangeland ecology and management; international development
Heng Huang's picture
henghuang@berkeley.edu
Metabolic scaling theory, plant allometry, climate change, microclimate feedbacks, ecosystem bistability
Roxanne Hulme Foss's picture
Range Management, Disturbance Ecology, GIS, Vegetation Change
LISA HUNT's picture
lisahunt@berkeley.edu
Aquatic ecology, hydrology, pesticide ecotoxicology, sustainable agriculture
Jennifer Lynn Imamura's picture
jimamura@berkeley.edu
1012725's picture
meredith.jabis@gmail.com
Dryw Jones's picture
dryw.jones@gmail.com
Carbon sequestration dynamics in forested ecosystems
Emily Kearney's picture
eekearney@berkeley.edu
Plant-Insect Interactions, Pollination Ecology, Agroecology, Conservation
Lisa Kelley's picture
lisa.c.kelley@berkeley.edu
agrarian change & livelihoods, land use & cover change, interdisciplinary research design & methods, environmental policy assessment & analysis
Suzanne J. Kelson's picture
skelson@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology, conservation management, eco-evolutionary dynamics
Susan R Kennedy's picture
fourjaws@berkeley.edu
spiders and spider outreach, adaptive radiations, evolutionary ecology
Benjamin J Kessler's picture
benjik2013@gmail.com
Esther Kim's picture
egkim@berkeley.edu
720292's picture
taproot@berkeley.edu
Agroecology, Soil Science, Remote Sensing & GIS
BRIAN IKAIKA KLEIN's picture
brianklein@berkeley.edu
political economy of energy and extractive industries; political ecology; artisanal and small-scale mining (ASM); politics of resource governance; Madagascar; sub-Saharan Africa
Mario J Klip's picture
mk_klip@yahoo.com
650 996 2230
Urban Wildlife
Freyja L Knapp's picture
freyja@berkeley.edu
Global Metropolitan Studies, Political Ecology, Science and Technology Studies
Clarke Knight's picture
California mixed-conifers, carbon sequestration, palynology, disturbance ecology
Sara Knox's picture
saraknox@berkeley.edu
Melina V. Kozanitas's picture
melinak@berkeley.edu
Population Genetics of Phytophthora ramorum (causal agent of Sudden Oak Death)
Heather A. Kramer's picture
anu.kramer@berkeley.edu
Fire, GIS, and LiDAR
Alexander Krohn's picture
alex.krohn@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary biology and ecology of reptiles and amphibians. Convergent evolution. Conservation biology. Conservation genetics. Landscape Ecology
David J Kurz's picture
david.kurz@berkeley.edu
agroecology, conservation biology, coupled human-natural systems, landscape genetics, movement ecology, wildlife ecology & management, wildlife utilization
Noriko Kusumi's picture
norikokusumi@berkeley.edu
International Political Economy and the Environment; Globalization and Multinational Corporations; Critical Management Studies (Corporate Social Responsibility & Socially Responsible Investment); Ecological Economics; Environmental Justice
1101642's picture
james.lachance@berkeley.edu
Marine conservation; fisheries management; aquaculture; agriculture and seafood systems; outreach and extension
Athena W. Lam's picture
AthenaWai@gmail.com
Population Connectivity, Biogeography, New Guinea Diving Beetles, Next Generation Sequencing
DANIEL LAVELLE's picture
dlavelle@berkeley.edu
Kyle Leathers's picture
kyle_leathers@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology, food webs, environmental stressors, macroinvertebrates
Carrie Levine's picture
crlevine@berkeley.edu
Forest ecology, community ecology, restoration ecology, ecological modeling
Chloe P.h. Lewis's picture
chlewis@berkeley.edu
1074037's picture
mlibassi@berkeley.edu
political ecology, resource geography, critical development studies, extractive industries, Indonesia
Gabriel Lobo's picture
gplobo@berkeley.edu
soil quality, water quality, contaminant transport, mine tailings, phytoremediation, mathemathical models
Juliet N Lu's picture
juliet.lu@berkeley.edu
Political Ecology, Transnational Land Acquisitions, Chinese rubber investments in Laos
Matthew Luskin's picture
luskin@berkeley.edu
Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Wildlife Ecology, Tropical Rainforests
Sarah A. Maclean's picture
maclean at berkeley.edu
spatial ecology
ornithology
Miriam Magaña Lopez's picture
Migrant health, immigration rights, deportation, incarceration, structural competency, food access, environmental justice, qualitative analysis
NAIN BRESLAU MARTINEZ SEGURA's picture
nain.martinez@berkeley.edu
Renewable Energy, Wind Power, Climate Change, Environmental Impact, Biodiversity Conservation, Environmental Governance, Interdisciplinary Research, Latin America, Mexico.
Sarick L Matzen's picture
smatzen@berkeley.edu
510-642-7273
Soil bioremediation; Urban agriculture
Allegra C Mayer's picture
allegramayer@berkeley.edu
Biogeochemistry, carbon cycle, soil, land-use/management, climate change
Kathryn I. McGown's picture
mcgownk@berkeley.edu
Gavin McNicol's picture
gavinmcnicol@berkeley.edu
510-643-3963
My main interests relate to the biogeochemical controls on greenhouse gas fluxes from soil and the methods used to extrapolate in situ flux measurements across larger scales.
Jennifer Mills's picture
jennifer.mills@berkeley.edu
surface chemistry, crystal growth and fluid-rock interactions, biogeochemical cycling
Diana Moanga's picture
dianamng@berkeley.edu
Mapping spatial patterns of change, natural resource conservation, ecosystem services, environmental policy
Hana Moidu's picture
hanamoidu@berkeley.edu
freshwater ecology, intermittent streams, hydrology
MAYWA MONTENEGRO's picture
maywamontenegro@gmail.com
Agroecology and diversified farming systems
ANDRES SEBASTIAN MUNOZ SAEZ's picture
amunozsaez@berkeley.edu
Conservation biology, Agroecology, Wildlife ecology, Landscape ecology, Climate change.
Anne F. Murray's picture
afmurray@berkeley.edu
+1 510 643-6303
Chemical Ecology
Rachel A Neurath's picture
rneurath@berkeley.edu
microbial ecology, carbon cycling and stabilization in soils, and the impacts of climate change
Tierne M Nickel's picture
tmnickel@berkeley.edu
Sasha Nikolaeva's picture
Forest management in Russia
1505388's picture
kari.norman@berkeley.edu
Clay F Noss's picture
cnoss@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary ecology, herpetology
Tristan Nunez's picture
tnunez@berkeley.edu
Melina Packer's picture
mmp@berkeley.edu
feminist and decolonial science and technology studies
Nina Pak's picture
nina.pak@berkeley.edu
Jenny Lizbeth Palomino's picture
jpalomino@berkeley.edu
Phoebe Parker-Shames's picture
phoebe_parkershames@berkeley.edu
Ecology, land use change, conservation, human-wildlife conflict
Robert A Parks's picture
rparks@berkeley.edu
modern and contemporary thought, history and philosophy of science, ecology, rivers and streams, Eel River (CA)
Sean Perez's picture
seanperez@berkeley.edu
Evolutionary Biology; Entomology; Genetics; Transcriptomics; Metabolomics
1501211's picture
Climate change, adaptation, agriculture, rural livelihoods, land access and tenure, beginning and socially disadvantaged farmers, extension, sociology of agriculture, conservation biology and ecology
Marco Matias Pfeiffer's picture
mpfeiffer@berkeley.edu
 
crossleypinkstaff@berkeley.edu
water and land resource allocation; gender and wellbeing; international development policy
Jaleel Plummer's picture
jmplummer@berkeley.edu
Medical anthropology, STS studies, biomedicine, health disparities, structural vulnerability, coloniality & postcoloniality, racialization & racism, subjectivity, the human body, sociality, & social movements
Lauren Catherine Ponisio's picture
lponisio@berkeley.edu
Carolina Prado's picture
c.prado@berkeley.edu
Women's Transborder Activism on Environmental Justice in the San Diego-Tijuana region
 
jpyatt@berkeley.edu
Aghaghia Rahimzadeh's picture
aghaghia@berkeley.edu
Community-based natural resource management, sustainable mountain livelihoods, international development, tribal/indigenous studies, gender, political ecology, India
Chandra Richards's picture
cmr5064@berkeley.edu
510-642-7273
Soil biogeochemistry, Estuarine science, Aquatic geochemistry
Avi Ringer's picture
aringer@berkeley.edu
Technological Change, Industrial History, Chemicals, Energy, Food, Environmental Health, Policy Studies
Christine S Rivera's picture
crivera@berkeley.edu
Behavioral Ecology, Evolution, Sexual Selection, Jumping Spiders
Frances B Roberts-Gregory's picture
frobertsgregory@berkeley.edu
Environmental Justice; Political Ecology; Environmental History; Ecowomanism; Feminist Philosophy of Science; Science, Technology and Society Studies (STS); Community Geography; Participatory Mixed Method Research; Urban Greenspace Management; Black Vegetarianism; Ethnobotany; Urban Agriculture; Food Justice; Climate Justice; Coastal Resource Management; Transcultural Ecological Knowledge
1511302's picture
allisonrofe@berkeley.edu
Range ecology
Andrew J Rominger's picture
rominger@berkeley.edu
Macroecology, ecological theory, evolution on islands
1540797's picture
lorenzo_rosa@berkeley.edu
Water-Energy-Food Nexus, Sustainability, Hydrology, Hydraulic Fracturing, Carbon Capture and Storage, Energy Systems, Environmental Engineering, Global Environmental Change
Andrew Rothstein's picture
andrew.rothstein@berkeley.edu
1103801's picture
srubianog@berkeley.edu
Environmental law and policy, political ecology, socio-legal studies, global environmental governance, science and technology studies (STS), Latin America, Colombia
Hannah Doll's picture
hannahsalim@berkeley.edu
Ricky Satomi's picture
ricksatomi@berkeley.edu
+1 510 665-3662
Kelsey J Scheckel's picture
kelsey.scheckel@colorado.edu
Linden Schneider's picture
lmschneider@berkeley.edu
Biogeochemistry, wetlands, contaminants, bioremediation
Dana Seidel's picture
dpseidel@berkeley.edu
Katherine Li Seto's picture
klseto@ucsc.edu
Marine Fisheries, Food Security, Sustainability Science, Conflict Studies, Governance, Africa
1501208's picture
katherine.siegel@berkeley.edu
Conservation biology, land use change, climate change vulnerability
1570833's picture
paige.stanley@berkeley.edu
Agricultural policy; sustainable animal agriculture; soil C sequestration; integrated crop-livestock systems; diversified farming systems; sustainable grazing
Jared R Stapp's picture
jaredstapp@berkeley.edu
Climate change adaptation, conservation, globalization, international political institutions, land use change, modeling, political ecology, remote sensing applications
 
carlinstarrs@berkeley.edu
+1 510 685-4049
Natalie J Stauffer's picture
natjst@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-5913
Lake benthic macroinvertebrate assemblages, barcoding for applications in biomonitoring, genetics of mayflies, aquatic ecology
Emma Steigerwald's picture
emma_steigerwald@berkeley.edu
Conservation biology, landscape genomics, movement ecology
1544391's picture
mtalhego@berkeley.edu
Eco-hydrology, land use change, large scale land acquisitions
Alex Thomas's picture
microbial ecology, landscape ecology, soils, GIS & statistics
Maria A Tonione's picture
riatoni@berkeley.edu
Carmen Tubbesing's picture
ctubbesing@berkeley.edu
RAKIM TURNIPSEED's picture
rturnipseed@berkeley.edu
Invasion Ecology, Population Ecology, Ecological Risk Assessment
Nathan Van Schmidt's picture
vanschmidt@berkeley.edu
1511274's picture
luluwaks@berkeley.edu
Laura T Ward's picture
lauraward@berkeley.edu
Wild Bee Conservation & Ecology, Sustainable Agriculture
Ashton Wesner's picture
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Political Ecology, Feminist Science and Technology Studies, Queer Studies, Settler-Colonial Studies, Critical Natural History, Museum Studies, Pacific Northwest
Brian A Whyte's picture
ba.whyte@berkeley.edu
Social Evolution. Ecology of social organisms.
Katherine M Wilkin's picture
Kate.Wilkin@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4934
Fire ecology
1089232's picture
Human-wildlife conflict; conservation biology; wildlife management; participatory mapping; science communication; landscape permeability; remote sensing and GIS
226224's picture
jwilliamson@berkeley.edu
Critical Race Theory, Industrial Ecology, Political Ecology, Agroecology, STS
Claire Willing's picture
cwilling@berkeley.edu
plant ecophysiology, plant-microbe interactions, fungal ecology, mycorrhizal fungi
Lauren Bahles WILSON's picture
laurenbwilson@berkeley.edu
Range ecology and management, endangered species, environmental policy, invasive weed management
1505446's picture
Freshwater ecology, ecological modeling, migratory patterns
LAUREN STUART WITHEY's picture
lwithey@berkeley.edu
Land tenure, payment for ecosystem services, REDD+, common-pool resource governance, Colombia
1517862's picture
wenjing.xu@berkeley.edu
Movement Ecology, Rangeland Ecology, Conservation Biology, GIS & remote sensing, Science communication
MICHAEL LIHAN YUAN's picture
michael.yuan@berkeley.edu
Herpetology, Evolutionary Ecology, Genomics, Epigenetics
Yu Zhang's picture
yzh828@berkeley.edu
+1 510 612-5488
Theoretical ecology, coexistence, energy distribution, population dynamics, species interaction, MaxEnt
Predictive modeling, statistics, simulations, R
Annah Lake Zhu's picture
annah@berkeley.edu
+1 213 440-2349
political ecology, critical theory, global environmental governance, international conservation and development, deforestation in the tropics, resource extraction